<body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d10069810\x26blogName\x3dNot+Prince+Hamlet\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dSILVER\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttp://nphamlet.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://nphamlet.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d5295355548743914979', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>

Not Prince Hamlet

"Full of high sentence, but a bit obtuse."

Sure it's a heads up play, but who's head is up where?

Thursday, October 13, 2005

White Sox, Angels, Cardinals, Astros: I'm not that interested. If you ask me, Astros/White Sox is the most compelling possibility, given the history--the 'stros have never been to the series, and the Sox haven't been in oodles of years.

So I'm not watching much of these games. But I did catch the end of last night's White Sox/Angels game, the second game of that series, and I have to say it was bogus. Let me say that again. B-O-G-U-S.

If you didn't see it, with the score tied 1-1 in the bottom of the 9th inning, and with two outs and nobody on base, the White Sox batter struck out swinging at a low strike. The Angels catcher rolled the ball back to the mound, and he and the rest of the Angels headed off the field for their at-bat in the top of the 10th inning. But the White Sox batter took off for first. And since half the Angels team was already off the field, he was easily safe. Then the White Sox put in a speedy pinch runner who stole second, then scored on a base hit. Game over.

B-O-G-U-S.

Replay after replay showed two things conclusively. 1) The Angels catcher caught the ball. The rule that allows a hitter to attempt first base on a dropped third strike simply was not in play. The ball was caught, and it never hit the dirt (later, the umpire would confirm that he never said that the ball hit the dirt). 2) Replays showed the homeplate umpire clearly signalling strike three with his arm extend, then signalling "out" by pumping his fist.

So let's re-cap: the batter swung at strike three, the catcher caught the ball, and the umpire called him out. Got it.

Yet there's the box score, telling you that the White Sox won the game in the bottom of the ninth.

B-O-G-U-S.

In the post-game interviews, all of the White Sox players were claiming ignorance, saying that they didn't know what happened and that their guy was just being "heads up" by running to first. I guess. But the umpIre was doing some "heads up" as well, with his head clearly up his . . .

B-O-G-U-S.
posted by Not Prince Hamlet, 5:54 AM

1 Comments:

You are correct, sir. BOGUS.... this was going on while Dana was in labor, so we saw it about 500 times, because the TV was on ESPN... How'd it get there? hmmm....
commented by Anonymous matt, 10:19 PM  

Add a comment